Chimpomatic

Some more Best of the 00s

Locochimpo

In no particular order:

Animal Collective – Feels or Strawberry Jam
I remember getting very scared, when I was a kid, that, mathematically, there was only a limited number of songs possible - limited number of notes and limited number of combinations. When would they run out? ARRGGH!!!! Then I heard Animal Collective and I realised it was all going to be alright. Feels probably gets the nod from me. Saw them live – bit disappointed. But YOU won’t be if you pipe them in through your headphones.

The Strokes – Is This It
Neither before nor since have I experienced such excitement about a new band and a new album. Debut single “Last Nite” blew my socks off. Seeing them live twice – in Barcelona (buying tickets from an old woman the afternoon of the gig – unimaginable in the UK) and Brixton confirmed their greatness. Shame they’ve got bloated and tired since.

My Morning Jacket – Z
Shit. Seriously. Don’t mess about. This album is fuqing brilliant. From the “burrm burrm” opening through to the long rock out bit of Lay Low and right through to the end, this album is a vortex of mind blowing ness. (Ok - apart from “Into The Woods”, but I read the lyrics for that the other day, realised it was about crackin on off in the shower and changed my mind). I saw these dudes on the Okonokos tour at the Astoria – One of the best gigs I’ve been to.

Fleet Foxes – Fleet Foxes
I’d heard of them before I heard them, and this was a most unexpected treat of an album. This surprising sub pop fare is up there as my most played album ever ever and is still on rotation now. Beautiful. And good live too (saw them at the roundhouse)

Lamchop – Nixon
Having never heard of them before, I have no idea what compelled me to by this album (ok it was £3 in the Virgin Megastore sales). Very pleased I did mind. Ok, so I skip a few of the later songs, but this is a special album. It still holds a special place in my heart. I saw them at the Barbican (mwah) when they performed a soundtrack to a silent Russian film... or something. Yawn.

Clap Your Hands Say Yeah – CYHSY
Apart from the first weird track (sign of things to come with their 2nd album), every song on this record is super. Easy to play on the guitar, but hard to sound as good. I drunkenly saw them at ULU with Chimpovich and his sensei bro. They were alright, but the support act - Hockey Night - were better.

M.Ward – Post-War
Ok – I’m not sure which is my favourite M. Ward album of the last 10 years, so this one’ll do. Cripes - this chap can write and sing a song. Not seen him live yet.

Yo La Tengo – Prisoners of Love (Compilation)
Not an album album, but rather a low price gem of a comp. This 25 odd track bad boy introduced me to Yo La Tengo and I’ve never looked back. These elder statesmen can seemingly do the lot – short pop numbers to 16 minute thought pieces and everything in between. Magic. Seen them about 4 times since (USA / Spain / UK) and they never disappoint.

Wilco – Yankee Hotel Foxtrot
KA-BOOOOOM! – this album is nothing short of mega. It came along just as I was getting into Jim O’Rourkes solo stuff and his production really elevates this album above all others ever. Some beautiful and funny lyrics blended with amazing riffs and loops – the soundtrack to many a long walk. I saw them at the Hammersmith Apollo, but I was too far away up in the gods to really dig it.

Flaming Lips – Soft Bulletin
Yeah Yeah. I know. It was released in 1999, but tough tits. It’s on my list. Seen these chaps live lots of times (highlight was seeing your man Wayne in a big zorb in Royal Albert hall). So influential, I even model my hair / beard combo on him.

Track worth a notable mention:
The Truth – Handsome Boy Modelling School
Oh my me. This song is so sweet. Staple song on nearly every mixrtape I made in the (early part of the) noughties. Before Minidiscs came along and ruined everything!

Best Soundtrack
Royal Tenenbaums
Awesome film. Brilliant Font. Cracking soundtrack. Wes Anderson is preternaturally gifted. I bet he stands up in meetings.

If you care to, you can listen to a selected track from each album (where available) on this Spotify playlist: - Locochimpo: 2000-2009

#Locochimpo
#Music

26th Jan 2010 - Tumblr

5

News

Reviews

Articles

Surveillance

Related

Finding Dory

Convoluted, charmless sequel. A rare misfire from Pixar.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

17th Sep 2017

Read more 2 star reviews

American Honey

Andrea Arnold transplants her class observations to the US. Unforgivably long, if beautifully shot.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

17th Sep 2017

Read more 3.5 star reviews

Ordinary World

Billie Joe Armstrong plays a former star dealing with 40. Good concept, rendered as flat as possible.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

16th Sep 2017

Read more 2 star reviews

Search

Passengers

Woefully inept, on-the-nose sci-fi romance. A reasonable concept executed in the worst way possible.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

10th Sep 2017

Read more 1.5 star reviews

Deepwater Horizon

Nicely directed, but a true story often doesn’t make for a well shaped film.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

31st Aug 2017

Read more 2.5 star reviews

The Box

Over-complicated, over-stylised mess from a director who clearly fluked his debut.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

30th Aug 2017

Read more 2.5 star reviews

The Lorax

Overlooked Dr. Suess adaptation from the Minions guys. Charming, but lacking a stand out character.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

30th Aug 2017

Read more 2.5 star reviews

The Infiltrator

Utterly standard undercover cop gets in too deep movie.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

29th Aug 2017

Read more 2.5 star reviews

Arrival

Stylish modern sci-fi with a clever structure, but it's still a film about subtitled aliens.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

24th Aug 2017

Read more 3.5 star reviews

The Lobster

Clever, quirky, black comedy parable that runs out of steam.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

23rd Aug 2017

Read more 3 star reviews

Dunkirk

Despite the good press, it's another shapeless, bloated one-dimensional rough cut from Christopher Nolan.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

17th Aug 2017

Read more 2.5 star reviews

Doctor Strange

Ambitious CGI can’t save this bland comic book entry. Cumberbatch’s accent strikes the death blow.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

17th Aug 2017

Read more 2.5 star reviews

To The Bone

Unchallenging drama investigating life with eating disorders. Occasional Keanu Reeves.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

12th Aug 2017

Read more 2.5 star reviews

Moana

Flawless new-generation animation from Disney. Action, heart, comedy and very catchy songs.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

6th Aug 2017

Read more 4 star reviews

Nocturnal Animals

Intense, terrifying, riveting thriller from Tom Ford. Great performances and assured direction.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

22nd Jul 2017

Read more 4 star reviews

The Girl With All The Gifts

Reasonable zombie drama. More rewarding than Walking Dead, but still a bit derivative.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

14th Jul 2017

Read more 3 star reviews

Captive

Intense, borderline arthouse Canadian kidnap drama from Atom Egoyan. Ryan Reynolds impresses.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

8th Jul 2017

Read more 4 star reviews

Cake

Self-important, slightly contrived mainstream indie with the one with the good hair from Friends.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

8th Jul 2017

Read more 3 star reviews

Song to Song

More clichéd Terrence Malick. Amazing cinematography. Meandering improv. Great real-world settings.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

6th Jul 2017

Read more 3 star reviews

Threads

Brutal 80s TV movie, imagining nuclear winter. Age has blended the stock footage to horrifying perfection.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

3rd Jul 2017

Read more 3.5 star reviews

The Intern

Surprisingly charming, sentimental, old style movie with no need for an antagonist. Plus, solid DeNiro.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

1st Jul 2017

Read more 3.5 star reviews

Jack Reacher

Never Go Back

Serviceable action sequel that ticks a lot of boxes without thinking outside of any.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

27th Jun 2017

Read more 3 star reviews

Sing

Totally predictable, thoroughly inspiring animated sing-a-long for the X-Factor generation.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

24th Jun 2017

Read more 3.5 star reviews

Bad Moms

B-list, mis-cast, low-ball girl gang comedy. Weak.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

19th Jun 2017

Read more 1.5 star reviews

War Machine

Catastrophically miscast black comedy that fails at every turn. Big let down from star and director.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

11th Jun 2017

Read more 2 star reviews

Absolutely Fabulous

Effortless retread of a show that survived well past it's sell-by date.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

29th May 2017

Read more 1.5 star reviews

Suicide Squad

Codswallop that's as indecipherable as every other recent DC movie. Terrible script, hammy acting.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

22nd May 2017

Read more 1.5 star reviews

Another 48 Hours

Chaotic, bloated sequel. Low on humour and mostly involving bad guys flying through plate glass.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

17th May 2017

Read more 2.5 star reviews

Ghostbusters

Lazy, half-baked remake/reboot, totally lacking in charm.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

17th May 2017

Read more 2 star reviews

Daddy's Home

Wafer thin parenting parable, barely coasting along on the charm of Ferrell and Wahlberg.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

16th May 2017

Read more 2 star reviews

Hell or High Water

Classic western tropes burn slowly to an intense finale. Classic Jeff Bridges.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

12th May 2017

Read more 4 star reviews

Jason Bourne

Tired, pointless rehash of a franchise that long ran out of steam.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

6th May 2017

Read more 3 star reviews

Gimme Danger

Stooges doc that is interesting by default, but dull given that Jim Jarmusch is behind the camera.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

28th Apr 2017

Read more 2.5 star reviews

One More Time With Feeling

Poingiant doc of the latest Bad Seeds album. Still falls into the usual making-of box.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

26th Apr 2017

Read more 3.5 star reviews

Captain Fantastic

Stylish, thought-provoking indie contemplating the weighty responsibilities of parenthood.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

22nd Apr 2017

Read more 4 star reviews

The Fugitive

Great 90s blockbuster, with Harrison Ford carrying the movie on top finger-wagging form.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

18th Mar 2017

Read more 5 star reviews

Demolition

Accomplished character piece. Almost stretches itself a bit thin, but it's stylish enough to transcend.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

18th Mar 2017

Read more 4 star reviews

Garden State

Dated indie classic that uses music to create pseudo-sentimental highs of little real substance.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

18th Mar 2017

Read more 3.5 star reviews

Supersonic

Engaging, nostalgic doc which meanders through the rise and rise of 1995’s greatest band ever.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

14th Mar 2017

Read more 3.5 star reviews

Drugstore Cowboy

Quintessential Gus Van Zant. Great art direction, acting and photography. Possibly better with age.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

7th Mar 2017

Read more 4 star reviews

I Don't Feel at Home in This World Anymore

Confident indie comedy-thriller that pitches itself perfectly.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

4th Mar 2017

Read more 4 star reviews

Still Life

Thoughtful character study, with Eddie Marsan standing up for those who slip through the cracks.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

26th Feb 2017

Read more 3.5 star reviews

The Lego Batman Movie

Brutally fast paced meta-fest, backed up by the most sensible bat-plot for a long time.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

16th Feb 2017

Read more 4 star reviews

Money Monster

Tenuous financial hostage thriller, that doesn't add up to the sum of its parts.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

11th Feb 2017

Read more 3 star reviews

Green Room

Disappointing punk rock horror thriller, that doesn't make the best of its left field set up.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

9th Feb 2017

Read more 3 star reviews

Lethal Weapon

Potentially forgettable buddy cop pic, elevated by a killer script and live wire performances.

Halliwell says: Extremely violent policier which caters to the Rambo crowd but has enough pizazz to recommend it to most classes.*


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF
#Halliwell

1st Feb 2017

Read more 4.5 star reviews

Hunt For The Wilderpeople

Accomplished, charming NZ indie comedy that wears its influences well.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

1st Feb 2017

Read more 3.5 star reviews

Raiders

The Story of the Greatest Fan Film Ever Made

Inspiring doc about the kids remaking Raiders over 7 summers.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

24th Jan 2017

Read more 3.5 star reviews

The Beatles

Eight Days a Week

Inspiring reminder of the sheer volume of trail blazing laid down by The Beatles.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

22nd Jan 2017

Read more 3.5 star reviews

The Goonies

Seminal kids movie that I underrated in '85. Shot with an easy pace, until the free-swim at the end.

Halliwell says: The bottomless pit of the Spielberg genre, a silly tale which takes forever to get going and is acted by children who have not studied elocution. The trick effects when they come are OK, but it's a long annoying haul to that point.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF
#Halliwell

22nd Jan 2017

Read more 3.5 star reviews