Chimpomatic

Some more Best of the 00s

Locochimpo

In no particular order:

Animal Collective – Feels or Strawberry Jam
I remember getting very scared, when I was a kid, that, mathematically, there was only a limited number of songs possible - limited number of notes and limited number of combinations. When would they run out? ARRGGH!!!! Then I heard Animal Collective and I realised it was all going to be alright. Feels probably gets the nod from me. Saw them live – bit disappointed. But YOU won’t be if you pipe them in through your headphones.

The Strokes – Is This It
Neither before nor since have I experienced such excitement about a new band and a new album. Debut single “Last Nite” blew my socks off. Seeing them live twice – in Barcelona (buying tickets from an old woman the afternoon of the gig – unimaginable in the UK) and Brixton confirmed their greatness. Shame they’ve got bloated and tired since.

My Morning Jacket – Z
Shit. Seriously. Don’t mess about. This album is fuqing brilliant. From the “burrm burrm” opening through to the long rock out bit of Lay Low and right through to the end, this album is a vortex of mind blowing ness. (Ok - apart from “Into The Woods”, but I read the lyrics for that the other day, realised it was about crackin on off in the shower and changed my mind). I saw these dudes on the Okonokos tour at the Astoria – One of the best gigs I’ve been to.

Fleet Foxes – Fleet Foxes
I’d heard of them before I heard them, and this was a most unexpected treat of an album. This surprising sub pop fare is up there as my most played album ever ever and is still on rotation now. Beautiful. And good live too (saw them at the roundhouse)

Lamchop – Nixon
Having never heard of them before, I have no idea what compelled me to by this album (ok it was £3 in the Virgin Megastore sales). Very pleased I did mind. Ok, so I skip a few of the later songs, but this is a special album. It still holds a special place in my heart. I saw them at the Barbican (mwah) when they performed a soundtrack to a silent Russian film... or something. Yawn.

Clap Your Hands Say Yeah – CYHSY
Apart from the first weird track (sign of things to come with their 2nd album), every song on this record is super. Easy to play on the guitar, but hard to sound as good. I drunkenly saw them at ULU with Chimpovich and his sensei bro. They were alright, but the support act - Hockey Night - were better.

M.Ward – Post-War
Ok – I’m not sure which is my favourite M. Ward album of the last 10 years, so this one’ll do. Cripes - this chap can write and sing a song. Not seen him live yet.

Yo La Tengo – Prisoners of Love (Compilation)
Not an album album, but rather a low price gem of a comp. This 25 odd track bad boy introduced me to Yo La Tengo and I’ve never looked back. These elder statesmen can seemingly do the lot – short pop numbers to 16 minute thought pieces and everything in between. Magic. Seen them about 4 times since (USA / Spain / UK) and they never disappoint.

Wilco – Yankee Hotel Foxtrot
KA-BOOOOOM! – this album is nothing short of mega. It came along just as I was getting into Jim O’Rourkes solo stuff and his production really elevates this album above all others ever. Some beautiful and funny lyrics blended with amazing riffs and loops – the soundtrack to many a long walk. I saw them at the Hammersmith Apollo, but I was too far away up in the gods to really dig it.

Flaming Lips – Soft Bulletin
Yeah Yeah. I know. It was released in 1999, but tough tits. It’s on my list. Seen these chaps live lots of times (highlight was seeing your man Wayne in a big zorb in Royal Albert hall). So influential, I even model my hair / beard combo on him.

Track worth a notable mention:
The Truth – Handsome Boy Modelling School
Oh my me. This song is so sweet. Staple song on nearly every mixrtape I made in the (early part of the) noughties. Before Minidiscs came along and ruined everything!

Best Soundtrack
Royal Tenenbaums
Awesome film. Brilliant Font. Cracking soundtrack. Wes Anderson is preternaturally gifted. I bet he stands up in meetings.

If you care to, you can listen to a selected track from each album (where available) on this Spotify playlist: - Locochimpo: 2000-2009

#Locochimpo
#Music

26th Jan 2010 - Tumblr

5

News

Reviews

Articles

Surveillance

Related

Modern Life is Rubbish

Continually clichéd rock romance that never breaks into originality.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

13th Oct 2018

Read more 1.5 star reviews

Search

England is Mine

Dry Morrissey biopic that gets arty by avoiding using any Smiths songs.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

7th Oct 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

The Only Living Boy in New York

Decent rehash of vintage indie movie tropes.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

7th Oct 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Hostiles

Mumblingly wordy western that’s big on self-importance and low on drama and tension.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

25th Sep 2018

Read more 2.5 star reviews

The Disaster Artist

Muddled biopic with occasional moments of eccentric comedy madness.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

22nd Sep 2018

Read more 2.5 star reviews

The Boy Downstairs

Like a long episode of Girls that’s all about one of the more boring characters.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

16th Sep 2018

Read more 2 star reviews

Shot Caller

Slightly confused slice of post-Michael Mann LA crime.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

7th Sep 2018

Read more 2.5 star reviews

Ingrid Goes West

Sympathetic retread of Single White Female, with added #hashtags.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

26th Aug 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Jumanji

Welcome to the Jungle

Fun updated reboot with added Breakfast Club.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

26th Aug 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Justice League

Low-tide mark for super hero movies. I only finished watching to see how bad it could get.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

14th Aug 2018

Read more 1 star reviews

Song to Song

It’s a cover version of every other Mallick pic, but the setting is inspired and the improv from Gosling is enjoyably enthusiastic.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

8th Aug 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Paddington 2

Well written, well paced sequel. Surprisingly competent and heartwarming.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

4th Aug 2018

Read more 3.5 star reviews

Death Wish

70s pot boiler that lazily meanders through a series of mediocre set pieces.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

23rd Jul 2018

Read more 2.5 star reviews

Thor

Ragnarok

Enjoyable change of pace for the super hero genre. Comedy wins.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

21st Jul 2018

Read more 3.5 star reviews

How It Ends

Great concept, but shoddily directed and utterly devoid of jeopardy.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

17th Jul 2018

Read more 2 star reviews

Anthropoid

Small scale wartime espionage flick. Decent, but a bit laboured.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

15th Jul 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Geostorm

Sub Roland Emmerich swill, with Gerard Butler saving the world from crazy weather.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

13th Jul 2018

Read more 2 star reviews

American Made

Derivative but fun romp through 80s CIA drug and gun running.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

12th Jul 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

The Outsider

Brutally sincere, painfully thin yakuza flick. Jared Leto goes full Gaijin.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

6th Jul 2018

Read more 2 star reviews

The Snowman

Huge misfire from Tomas Alfredson, with a multitude of bizarre choices. Like a bad 80's VHS rental.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

6th Jul 2018

Read more 1.5 star reviews

Bone Tomahawk

Brutally violent, post-Tarantino western. It’s all a bit mechanical.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

2nd Jun 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Solo

A Star Wars Story

Reasonable, forgettable addition. Overfilling that mysterious back story.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

1st Jun 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Atomic Blonde

Lazy double-crossing spy drama, directed with a certain amount of swagger.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

24th May 2018

Read more 2.5 star reviews

The Florida Project

Stylish, incredibly depressing portrait of life on the margins.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

12th May 2018

Read more 3.5 star reviews

Brawl in Cell Block 99

Minimally written and confidently directed, with a brutally violent third act. Starring thin Vince Vaughn.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

4th May 2018

Read more 3.5 star reviews

Last Flag Flying

Unofficial sequel to The Last Detail. Surprisingly slight effort from Linklater.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

29th Apr 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Alien

Covenant

Another tired entry, trotting out the same old tropes, plus new nonsensical gibberish.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

13th Apr 2018

Read more 2.5 star reviews

Star Wars

The Last Jedi

Every moment is undermined by a gag and the few serious scenes are sloppily handled.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

13th Apr 2018

Read more 2 star reviews

Spider-man

Homecoming

A third crack at Spider-man. Fun-ish, but it’s zero-stakes, zero-jeopardy. Bit smug too.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

31st Mar 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Wonder Woman

Another garish super-hero flick. Slightly above average, mainly by being more old-fashioned.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

30th Mar 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Slow West

Overly dry, eccentric western. Jarmuschian overtones.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

16th Mar 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Wind River

Incredible, tense, original thriller. A western with snowmobiles.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

14th Mar 2018

Read more 4 star reviews

21 Years

Richard Linklater

Career retrospective doc that keeps it fun and doesn’t outstay it’s welcome.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

11th Mar 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

The Mummy

Blockbuster-by-numbers as Universal clumsily attempt to build a franchise.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

24th Feb 2018

Read more 2 star reviews

I’m Now

The Story of Mudhoney

Unsurprising history run-down, enlivened by the band’s ferociously DIY attitude.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

21st Feb 2018

Read more 2.5 star reviews

The Cloverfield Paradox

Some good ideas, buried by shambolic direction and storytelling.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

20th Feb 2018

Read more 2 star reviews

Get Out

Intense, eerie thriller that’s surprisingly straightforward and a little old-fashioned.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

30th Jan 2018

Read more 3.5 star reviews

Colossal

Disappointingly slow, underdeveloped and literal monster metaphor from Nacho Vigalondo.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

27th Jan 2018

Read more 2.5 star reviews

The Light Between Oceans

Long, but moving and stylishly directed period drama. Fantastic cinematography.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

15th Jan 2018

Read more 3.5 star reviews

Logan

Grown-up superhero flick. Handled far better than most, but ridiculously violent.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

6th Jan 2018

Read more 3.5 star reviews

By the Sea

Slated by the critics, this is a stylish, slight, small movie - with two massive stars in it.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

6th Jan 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Kong

Skull Island

Fun, original take on an otherwise ageing property. Apocalypse Now meets Watchmen.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

5th Jan 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

The Ones Below

Clunky Brit thriller that telegraphs every one of its sub-Hitchcockian twists, despite the decent premise.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

3rd Jan 2018

Read more 2 star reviews

Guardians of the Galaxy

Vol 2

Stylish, fast-paced, amusing antidote to the endless stream of generic superhero movies.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

27th Dec 2017

Read more 3.5 star reviews

La La Land

Disappointingly slight award winner, that doesn’t find its stride until 10 minutes from the end.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

27th Dec 2017

Read more 3.5 star reviews

Bright

Left-field genre mash-up that pitches itself just right. Solid action, good humour. Thoroughly enjoyable.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

25th Dec 2017

Read more 4 star reviews

I, Daniel Blake

Bleak, real-time journey through the realities of living on benefits.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

25th Dec 2017

Read more 3 star reviews

Star Wars

The Last Jedi

Shambolic sequel that squanders the promising set up from JJ, plus 40 year… https://t.co/SdXpv8B5hj.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

21st Dec 2017

Read more star reviews

ET

The Extra Terrestial

Kids on BMXs sticking it to the man. What could be better.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

19th Dec 2017

Read more 5 star reviews

Life

Lifeless sci-fi horror. Gravity meets Piranha.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

12th Dec 2017

Read more 2 star reviews