Chimpomatic

Cadence Weapon

Afterparty Babies

Big Dada

Recently I was having Quite an animated conversation with a Quality journalist friend of mine who writes for a Quintessential music magasine, the name of which I shall not Quote. When I asked him what he was listening to at the moment he sighed and told me of his disillusionment with the current music scene and said he only listens to old stuff now. His point was that no one makes complete albums anymore, they just make collections of singles. "Quite the opposite" I replied but then struggled to think of any examples to back me up. Well now I have one and if you're reading my friend, you may Quote me on that.

"My Dad said I was an afterparty baby; this goes out to all the accidents out there; keep on making mistakes." And so goes the dedication featured on Do I Miss My Friends, the opening track on this followup to Cadence Weapon's critically acclaimed debut Breaking Kayfabe. " I wanted to make music that afterparty babies were created to," explains Cadence Weapon aka Rollie Pemberton. Acting as a testament to Rollie's first influence, his father, Teddy Pemberton, creator of the Black Sound Experience Radio show and introducer of hip-hop to Rollie's hometown of Edmonton, Alberta, Afterparty Babies is a hectic journey through the world of club nights and house parties. This theme is explored through stories of friends, crews, nightmare DJ nights, hometowns, heroes, media and fashion.

Musically this is quite different from its predecessor. Where Breaking Kayfabe led with swirling, back-breaking electronic hip hop this one opts for a more electro/techno pace that serves to remove this artist from the hip hop roots that he may have once planted. Having seen him slot in a Joy Division cover at his London warm-up show last year, it's no surprise this album has moved on considerably from the debut and is the product of an artist open to a healthy array of musical influences. Pemberton presents an interesting juxtaposition between this thoughtful 'Wonder Years' style reminiscing and the harsh electro sound clash that carries it.

In my review of Breaking Kayfabe I was compelled to compare Cadence Weapon to a rampaging Terminator hell bent on destruction. It was a tenuous link I admit and made partly out of boredom of review-writing and also because 30 Seconds had a chorus that sounded a bit like The Terminator chase music. So I can't help feeling a sense of irony when mid-way through Afterparty Babies the song Messages Matter features a sample from Kindergarten Cop. " Who is your Daddy and what does he do?" comes the line and with it some interesting questions. Is Afterparty Babies the Kindergarten Cop to Breaking Kayfabe's Terminator? Are we seeing the human side of the cyborg? In a sense yes. It's not as hard hitting or relentless as the debut, it definitely has a lighter feel to it, it's more enjoyable and while you're jumping along to the uncharacteristically housey beats you know he's undercover and at the start of the movie you saw him kick someone's ass.

This may differ from the debut in all the ways mentioned earlier, it may be more melodic, spacious and palatable but let it run its course and you'll see it's just as tough as Breaking Kayfabe. It plays out like a night out clubbing but in reverse. It starts off strangely downtempo with Do I Miss My Friends? and by the end it's full on techno. There's no wind down, no gentle walk home with a kebab, it leaves you at top tempo to find your own way out. At the live show songs like In Search Of The Youth Crew and Real Estate were instant crowd pleasers and they don't disappoint here but instead become repetitive anthemic chants to Pemberton's Afterparty generation. True Story and Getting Dumb are electro master-classes, chucking in vintage house techniques with cuts and scratches and all topped by the most intricately crafted rhymes. It's certainly an album of 2 halves with the final few tracks providing the weight to this extraordinary record. Pemberton exited the stage at the Amersham Arms to House Music. It had the crowd jumping like a bunch of idiots and it has the same effect here. It's a dirty, crazy five and a half minutes. It swirls and bleeps to clapping beats and air-raid style sirens and it rules. By the time we get to the album closer We Move Away the techno conversion is complete. The club is in full swing and after a while the music even overtakes the creator and rises to a life of its own ending the album in almost 2 minutes of banging beats and grinding synths that threaten to go on until first light.

This has the feel of an album released by a well established hip-hop name that suddenly breaks from tradition and goes out on a limb, thus alienating hardened fans. It's exciting to see an artist do this so early and I can't imagine Cadence Weapon ever settling into a style. With this album he joins the ranks of MC's like Aesop Rock and Buck 65 as creators of their own style of hip-hop, constantly evolving and gathering up every influence and experience in their path. I am already eager to hear what this guy's got up his sleeve next and I bet I can find a Schwarzenegger link in it somewhere.


Links

Cadence Weapon
Myspace
Last FM

Tags

#HHG
#Music

10th Feb 2008 - Tumblr

4

News

Reviews

Articles

Surveillance

Related

Cadence Weapon

Amersham Arms, London

Cadence Weapon

Breaking Kayfabe

Missing Link

Solid stop-motion animation that’s light on plot, but high on charm.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

12th Apr 2019

Read more 2.5 star reviews

Search

Sicario 2

Soldaro

Surprisingly stylish sequel that drops the ball in classic straight-to-VHS style halfway through.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

6th Apr 2019

Read more 3 star reviews

Hold the Dark

Opaque Alaskan thriller from Jeremy Saulnier, with little regard for convention.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

1st Apr 2019

Read more 3 star reviews

Leave No Trace

Low key indie spin on Rambo, as a father and daughter try and live off grid.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

28th Mar 2019

Read more 3.5 star reviews

The Dirt

Fun biopic that runs out of steam about when the band did.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

25th Mar 2019

Read more 3 star reviews

Deadpool 2

A diminished remake of Deadpool 1. Occasional LOLs.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

25th Mar 2019

Read more 2.5 star reviews

Bird Box

High concept sci-fi that stretches its concept a little thin.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

19th Mar 2019

Read more 3 star reviews

Triple Frontier

Unremarkable, cliche-ridden actioner. Utterly lacking in suspense.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

17th Mar 2019

Read more 2.5 star reviews

Jurassic World

Fallen Kingdom

A disjointed patchwork of homages, nods and rip offs from dozens of other movies, with little to offer of its own.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

11th Mar 2019

Read more 2 star reviews

A Quiet Place

Laborious, high-concept alien horror. While the concept is good, the beats are all well telegraphed.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

2nd Mar 2019

Read more 3 star reviews

Isn’t It Romantic

Witty, if a little obvious, post-meta rom-com.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

1st Mar 2019

Read more 3 star reviews

The Lego Movie 2

The Second Part

It’s literally a re-hash of all the themes of the first one with a few less jokes.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

23rd Feb 2019

Read more 3 star reviews

Unsane

Slight, but sometime engaging iPhone feature.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

26th Jan 2019

Read more 3 star reviews

Tully

Decent modern spin on Mary Poppins. Bit uneven, but a nice soundtrack helps things along.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

20th Jan 2019

Read more 3.5 star reviews

Rampage

Bog standard entry into The-Rock-action-movie genre. As much personality as a computer game.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

3rd Jan 2019

Read more 3 star reviews

Avengers

Infinity War

This time it’s really, really serious. Seriously.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

27th Dec 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

The Greatest Showman

It’s a musical ...but slick direction makes it just about bearable.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

24th Dec 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Ready Player One

Pop-culture bouillabaisse, hampered by numerous terrible accents.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

24th Dec 2018

Read more 3.5 star reviews

Lady Bird

Pacey, emotional, old-fashioned indie pic. Beautifully observed.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

15th Dec 2018

Read more 4 star reviews

Darkest Hour

Surprisingly underwhelming biopic that doesn’t find its feet until 20m from the end.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

24th Nov 2018

Read more 3.5 star reviews

Den of Thieves

Utterly derivative / thoroughly enjoyable ‘Heat’ rip off.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

21st Nov 2018

Read more 3.5 star reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Well crafted character study, with some nice touches.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

10th Nov 2018

Read more 4 star reviews

You Were Never Really Here

Brutal revenge thriller. Stylish and violent, with plenty of explanation left to the imagination.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

4th Nov 2018

Read more 3.5 star reviews

Private Life

Intense indie drama from Netflix. Impeccably acted and directed.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

27th Oct 2018

Read more 4 star reviews

Black Panther

Disappointingly unoriginal superhero movie, complete with dull CGI action.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

27th Oct 2018

Read more 2 star reviews

Modern Life is Rubbish

Continually clichéd rock romance that never breaks into originality.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

13th Oct 2018

Read more 1.5 star reviews

England is Mine

Dry Morrissey biopic that gets arty by avoiding using any Smiths songs.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

7th Oct 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

The Only Living Boy in New York

Decent rehash of vintage indie movie tropes.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

7th Oct 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Hostiles

Mumblingly wordy western that’s big on self-importance and low on drama and tension.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

25th Sep 2018

Read more 2.5 star reviews

The Disaster Artist

Muddled biopic with occasional moments of eccentric comedy madness.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

22nd Sep 2018

Read more 2.5 star reviews

The Boy Downstairs

Like a long episode of Girls that’s all about one of the more boring characters.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

16th Sep 2018

Read more 2 star reviews

Shot Caller

Slightly confused slice of post-Michael Mann LA crime.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

7th Sep 2018

Read more 2.5 star reviews

Ingrid Goes West

Sympathetic retread of Single White Female, with added #hashtags.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

26th Aug 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Jumanji

Welcome to the Jungle

Fun updated reboot with added Breakfast Club.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

26th Aug 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Justice League

Low-tide mark for super hero movies. I only finished watching to see how bad it could get.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

14th Aug 2018

Read more 1 star reviews

Song to Song

It’s a cover version of every other Mallick pic, but the setting is inspired and the improv from Gosling is enjoyably enthusiastic.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

8th Aug 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Paddington 2

Well written, well paced sequel. Surprisingly competent and heartwarming.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

4th Aug 2018

Read more 3.5 star reviews

Death Wish

70s pot boiler that lazily meanders through a series of mediocre set pieces.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

23rd Jul 2018

Read more 2.5 star reviews

Thor

Ragnarok

Enjoyable change of pace for the super hero genre. Comedy wins.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

21st Jul 2018

Read more 3.5 star reviews

How It Ends

Great concept, but shoddily directed and utterly devoid of jeopardy.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

17th Jul 2018

Read more 2 star reviews

Anthropoid

Small scale wartime espionage flick. Decent, but a bit laboured.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

15th Jul 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Geostorm

Sub Roland Emmerich swill, with Gerard Butler saving the world from crazy weather.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

13th Jul 2018

Read more 2 star reviews

American Made

Derivative but fun romp through 80s CIA drug and gun running.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

12th Jul 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

The Outsider

Brutally sincere, painfully thin yakuza flick. Jared Leto goes full Gaijin.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

6th Jul 2018

Read more 2 star reviews

The Snowman

Huge misfire from Tomas Alfredson, with a multitude of bizarre choices. Like a bad 80's VHS rental.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

6th Jul 2018

Read more 1.5 star reviews

Bone Tomahawk

Brutally violent, post-Tarantino western. It’s all a bit mechanical.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

2nd Jun 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Solo

A Star Wars Story

Reasonable, forgettable addition. Overfilling that mysterious back story.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

1st Jun 2018

Read more 3 star reviews

Atomic Blonde

Lazy double-crossing spy drama, directed with a certain amount of swagger.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

24th May 2018

Read more 2.5 star reviews

The Florida Project

Stylish, incredibly depressing portrait of life on the margins.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

12th May 2018

Read more 3.5 star reviews

Brawl in Cell Block 99

Minimally written and confidently directed, with a brutally violent third act. Starring thin Vince Vaughn.


#JustWatched
#Film
#CSF

4th May 2018

Read more 3.5 star reviews